• Mon, 21. February 2022
  • 06:00
  • Innsbruck Central Station

Brenner Base Tunnel Tunnel boring machines - giants in the mountain

Since last summer 2021, the construction work on the Brenner Base Tunnel project has been impressively displayed in large-scale images. The exhibition area is located on the southern half of the gallery at Innsbruck's main train station. Every three to four months, a new thematic focus is presented. Now the time has come again: This time, visitors can get a picture of the impressive driving tools that are used to excavate the tunnel tubes of the BBT by machine, starting from the South Tyrolean construction site Mauls in the direction of the Brenner Pass
Tunnel boring machines - giants in the mountain
From now on, the South Tyrolean construction lot "Mauls" will be presented with its two tunnel boring machines (TBM). Every day between 6 a.m. and 10 p.m., visitors, passers-by and travelers can find out about the impressive construction work deep in the mountain at the station
There, two TBMs, each with a length of 300 m and the sounding names "Flavia" and "Virginia", are excavating the main tunnels to the north. Until recently, there were even three TBMs in operation here, because the third tube of the tunnel system - the exploratory tunnel - was also excavated by machine. This heading, generated by the TBM "Serena", already arrived at the Brenner Pass in November of the previous year
So far, the focus has been on the two construction lots "Sillschlucht" and "Eisackunterquerung". The visit is free of charge.

  • Upcoming dates
  • Past dates

• Mo., 21. Februar 2022
  • 06:00
  • Innsbrucker Hauptbahnhof

Brenner Basistunnel Tunnelbohrmaschinen - Giganten im Berg

Seit vergangenem Sommer 2021 wird das Baugeschehen beim Projekt Brenner Basistunnel in großflächigen Bildern eindrucksvoll zur Schau gestellt. Die Ausstellungsfläche befindet sich auf der Südhälfte der Galerie am Innsbrucker Hauptbahnhof. Jeweils nach drei bis vier Monaten wird ein neuer Themenschwerpunkt präsentiert. Nun ist es wieder soweit: Diesmal können sich die BesucherInnen ein Bild von den beeindruckenden Vortriebswerkzeugen machen, welche die Tunnelröhren des BBT ausgehend von der Südtiroler Baustelle Mauls in Richtung Brenner, maschinell ausbrechen.
Tunnelbohrmaschinen – Giganten im Berg
Ab sofort wird das Südtiroler Baulos „Mauls“ mit seinen beiden Tunnelbohrmaschinen (TBM) vorgestellt. Täglich zwischen 6 und 22 Uhr können sich BesucherInnen, PassantInnen und Reisende am Bahnhof über das eindrucksvolle Baugeschehen tief im Berg erkundigen.
Dort werden von zwei jeweils 300 m langen TBM mit den klingenden Namen „Flavia“ und „Virginia“ die Haupttunnel Richtung Norden ausgebrochen. Bis vor Kurzem waren hier sogar drei TBM im Einsatz, denn auch die dritte Röhre des Tunnelsystems – der Erkundungsstollen – wurde maschinell ausgebrochen. Dieser Vortrieb, generiert von der TBM „Serena“, ist bereits im November des Vorjahres am Brenner angekommen.
Bisher standen die beiden Baulose “Sillschlucht” sowie und “Eisackunterquerung” im Fokus. Der Besuch ist kostenlos.

  • Kommende Termine
  • Vergangene Termine

Veranstaltungsort, Kontakt & Informationen

Themen