• Thu, 30. March 2023
  • 19:00
  • Innsbruck City Library

Book talk: The escape paradox

Fleeing is a contradiction: you want to stay, but you have to leave. Fleeing is traumatizing: you seek safety, but have to risk your life to do so. And fleeing (to Europe) is paradoxical: you have to break the law, i.e. cross borders "illegally" in order to gain your right to asylum. Only to have to deal with contradictory requirements and sometimes unfulfillable conditions for integration in the host country. In Das Fluchtparadox (Kremayr & Scheriau, 2022), refugee researcher Judith Kohlenberger provides a detailed analysis of how we deal with displacement and displaced persons. She traces the historical and current developments from a legal, social and individual perspective and shows how we can achieve a humane asylum and integration policy. An event in cooperation with Plattform SO SIND WIR NICHT.
Moderation: Hannes Schlosser, Platform SO WE ARE NOT
Seat reservations: +43 512 5360 5700
***
Judith Kohlenberger is a cultural scientist and migration researcher at the Institute for Social Policy at WU Vienna, where she researches and teaches refugee migration, integration and belonging. In fall 2015, she was involved in one of Europe's first studies on the large refugee movement. In addition to her academic work, she is active in the Integration Council of the City of Vienna and is a founding member of COURAGE - Courage for Humanity, which campaigns for legal escape routes.
Hannes Schlosser is a journalist and non-fiction author. Main focus: Politics, ecological and economic development of the Alpine region, medicine, social issues. Co-founder of SO WE ARE NOT
SO SIND WIR NICHT is a networking platform on the topic of flight. Together with 722 individuals and 77 organizations, it has been campaigning for years for an asylum policy in line with human rights at the EU's external borders and legal immigration options to Austria.

  • Upcoming dates
  • Past dates

• Do., 30. März 2023
  • 19:00
  • Stadtbibliothek Innsbruck

Buchgespräch: Das Fluchtparadox

Flucht ist ein Widerspruch: Man will bleiben, muss aber weg. Flucht ist traumatisierend: Man sucht Sicherheit, muss dafür aber sein Leben aufs Spiel setzen. Und Flucht (nach Europa) ist paradox: Man muss Recht brechen, nämlich „illegal“ Grenzen passieren, um zu seinem Recht auf Asyl zu kommen. Nur um sich im Aufnahmeland abermals mit widersprüchlichen Anforderungen und teils unerfüllbaren Bedingungen der Integration auseinandersetzen zu müssen. Die Fluchtforscherin Judith Kohlenberger liefert in Das Fluchtparadox (Kremayr & Scheriau, 2022) eine detaillierte Analyse unseres Umgangs mit Vertreibung und Vertriebenen. Sie zeichnet die historischen und gegenwärtigen Entwicklungen in rechtlicher, gesellschaftlicher und individueller Perspektive nach und zeigt, wie wir zu einer menschlichen Asyl- und Integrationspolitik kommen können. Eine Veranstaltung in Zusammenarbeit mit Plattform SO SIND WIR NICHT.
Moderation: Hannes Schlosser, Plattform SO SIND WIR NICHT
Platzreservierungen: +43 512 5360 5700
***
Judith Kohlenberger ist Kulturwissenschaftlerin und Migrationsforscherin am Institut für Sozialpolitik der WU Wien, wo sie zu Fluchtmigration, Integration und Zugehörigkeit forscht und lehrt. Im Herbst 2015 war sie an einer der europaweit ersten Studien zur großen Fluchtbewegung beteiligt. Neben ihrer wissenschaftlichen Arbeit ist sie im Integrationsrat der Stadt Wien tätig und engagiert sich als Gründungsmitglied von COURAGE – Mut zur Menschlichkeit für legale Fluchtwege.
Hannes Schlosser ist Journalist und Sachbuchautor. Schwerpunkte: Politik, ökologische und ökonomische Entwicklung des Alpenraums, Medizin, Soziales. Mitbegründer von SO SIND WIR NICHT
SO SIND WIR NICHT ist eine Vernetzungsplattform zum Thema Flucht. Seit Jahren engagiert sie sich – gemeinsam mit 722 Einzelpersonen und 77 Organisationen – für eine menschenrechtskonforme Asylpolitik an den EU-Außengrenzen und legale Einwanderungsmöglichkeiten nach Österreich.

  • Kommende Termine
  • Vergangene Termine