• Fri, 17. March 2023
  • 11:00
  • Innsbruck, TAXISPALAIS

Exhibition: Gurbette Kalmak / Bleiben in der Fremde

Cana Bilir-Meier, Semra Ertan, Sohrab Shahid Saless, Nil Yalter, Hanefi Yeter
The exhibition "Bleiben in der Fremde" (Staying in a foreign land) presents artistic responses to the social and political situation of laborers in the “guest worker” system of Western Europe. The works focus on the 1970s and were also largely created shortly after the end of the recruitment agreement (Anwerbestopp) and in the midst of an emerging paradigm of integration. This was a period when migrant workers from Turkey were fighting for equal labor and civil rights and at the same time were also justifiably skeptical of the integration paradigm with its demands for assimilation.
Like Semra Ertan in her poetry, Cana Bilir-Meier, Sohrab Shahid Saless, Nil Yalter, and Hanefi Yeter create a different language in video, film, photography, and painting to narrate the pain of denied belonging in both home and foreign land.
"Bleiben in der Fremde" is the first chapter of a TAXISPALAIS exhibition trilogy which focusses on questions of togetherness. What can artistic languages contribute to more appropriate discourses around the plurality of belonging and multiplicities in Western Europe? The chapters will be curated in different constellations.
Curated by Gürsoy Doğtaş & Nina Tabassomi
  • Upcoming dates
  • Past dates

• Fr., 17. März 2023
  • 11:00
  • Innsbruck, TAXISPALAIS

Gurbette Kalmak / Bleiben in der Fremde

Cana Bilir-Meier, Semra Ertan, Sohrab Shahid Saless, Nil Yalter, Hanefi Yeter
Die Ausstellung "Bleiben in der Fremde" zeigt künstlerische Artikulationsformen in Reaktion auf die soziale und politische Situation der Arbeitsmigrant_innen im „Gastarbeiter“-System Westeuropas. Die Arbeiten fokussieren auf die 1970er und sind zum Großteil auch in dieser Zeit des Anwerbestopps und des aufkommenden Integrationsparadigmas entstanden: Eine Zeit, in der die Arbeitsmigrant_innen aus der Türkei für Arbeits- wie auch Bürger_innenrechte kämpften und dem Integrationsparadigma mit der Forderung nach An- und Einpassung berechtigterweise skeptisch gegenüberstanden.
Wie Semra Ertan in ihrer Lyrik schaffen Cana Bilir-Meier, Sohrab Shahid Saless, Nil Yalter und Hanefi Yeter in Video, Film, Fotografie und Malerei eine eigene Sprache, um den Schmerz abgesprochener Zugehörigkeiten in der Fremde erzählen zu können.
"Bleiben in der Fremde" ist das erste Kapitel einer Ausstellungstrilogie im TAXISPALAIS, die sich mit Fragen des sozialen Miteinanders auseinandersetzt. Was können künstlerische Sprachen dazu beitragen, die Diskurse um mehrfache Zugehörigkeiten und Vielheit in Westeuropa angemessener zu diskutieren und zu leben? Die Kapitel werden in unterschiedlichen Konstellationen kuratiert.
  • Kommende Termine
  • Vergangene Termine